Free Genealogy Resource Challenge Day 1:

Free Genealogy Resource Challenge

Day 1:

Genealogy can be an expensive hobby. Most sites lure you in with free trial periods but then quickly charge you monthly or yearly fees to continue to research on their site. My favorite research site, which I have used for ages, is no different.

Today I cancelled my paid membership and decided to issue a challenge to myself. For the next 30 days, I will not allow myself to pay for any research sites and I will try to share a new free research source for each day of the month.

Family Search:

https://www.familysearch.org/

The LDS Church has been working to copy and archive records worldwide for generations. The site is entirely free to both build a family tree and research for records. Personally, I think the learning curve is a bit harder than some genealogy sites out there but when it comes to free research sites, it is unmatched.

2 thoughts on “Free Genealogy Resource Challenge Day 1:

Leave a Reply

